Dr. Richard U. Levine Elected President of the New York Obstetrical Society

Jul 5, 2002


Dr. Richard U. Levine, vice chairman for clinical affairs in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Sloane Hospital for Women at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital's Columbia University Medical Center, and clinical professor of obstetrics & gynecology at Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons, has been elected President of the New York Obstetrical Society. He was instrumental in first introducing hysteroscopy, or endoscopic evaluation of the uterine cavity, which in 1970 diagnosed such conditions as abnormal uterine bleeding and fibroids. Dr. Levine is also recognized for his work on human papilloma virus (HPV), a sexually transmitted virus that is associated with an increased risk of cervical cancer.

In 2000, Dr. Levine received a national teaching award from American Professors of Obstetrics and Gynecology (APOG). At the 2002 graduation ceremonies of the College of Physicians & Surgeons, he was awarded the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Award, which is given annually to a physician who has demonstrated compassionate and devoted patient care, and who is a humanistic role model for students and young physicians.

Dr. Levine received his undergraduate degree from Tufts University in 1962, and his M.D. from Cornell University Medical College in 1966. He was an intern in Medicine at Bellevue Hospital, New York, and a resident in Obstetrics and Gynecology at Columbia University Medical Center. Except for fellowships at the Karolinska Institute, in Sweden, and the Bronx Lebanon Hospital Center, he has been at Columbia University Medical Center since 1974. He has filled numerous hospital, academic, and professional positions, including President of Columbia University Medical Center's Society of Practitioners, Fellow of the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. He has been a member of the New York Obstetrical Society since 1978.

The New York Obstetrical Society, founded in 1863, is made up of about 200 obstetrician-gynecologists who are leaders in the field of women's health care, and who are dedicated to the betterment of women's health through clinical, academic, scientific, and political endeavors.