Bariatric Surgery

Bariatric surgery is a type of gastrointestinal surgery for patients who are obese or overweight and have been unable to lose weight on their own. If dieting, exercise, and other non-surgical options are ineffective, bariatric surgery may be recommended to improve a patient’s health.

You might be a candidate for bariatric surgery if you:

  • Have a body mass index (BMI) of at least 35 (about 100 pounds above ideal body weight)
  • Have tried to lose weight by non-surgical methods
  • Are highly motivated to lose weight
  • Are willing to change eating habits
  • Are between the ages of 18 and 68
  • Are between the ages of 15-18 with a BMI over 40

NewYork-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital is recognized by The American Society of Bariatric Surgery as a "Center of Excellence" in bariatric surgery. Our surgeons, all of whom are affiliated with this hospital, provide high quality, comprehensive care using advanced and minimally invasive surgical techniques. Surgeries are performed at NewYork-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital, which also offers a Surgical Weight Reduction Program that pairs patients with a team of surgeons, nutritionists, physiologists, and clinical social workers to meet their weight loss goals. The program also offers a pre- and post-surgery support group. To learn more about bariatric surgery and the weight loss program, patients are encouraged to attend one of our presurgical educational seminars or schedule a consultation.

Procedures We Offer Include:

  • Sleeve gastrectomy
  • Gastric bypass surgery (“Roux-en-Y”)
  • Laparoscopic gastric banding (“lap band”)

Find a Doctor


Bay Ridge

SpecialtiesBariatric Surgery, General Surgery

Learn More


Specialties: Bariatrics, Cardiology, Endocrinology, Family Medicine, Gastroenterology, Hematology/Oncology, Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine, Neurology, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pain Management, Pediatrics, Podiatry, Pulmonology, Rheumatology, Vascular Surgery, Urology

Learn More

Brooklyn Heights

Specialties: Cardiology, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, General Surgery, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Orthopedics, Podiatry, Pulmonology, Thoracic Surgery, Vascular Surgery

Learn More