NewYork-Presbyterian Westchester Division Achieves Designation from the ANCC Magnet Recognition Program®

Jan 10, 2019

a group of people posing for a photo

Linda Espinosa, MS, RN, NEA-BC (fourth from left, top row) with members of the nursing team at NewYork-Presbyterian

White Plains, NY

NewYork-Presbyterian Westchester Division announced today that it has received national recognition for excellence in nursing from the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s (ANCC) Magnet Recognition Program®, the highest and most prestigious distinction that a health care organization can earn for nursing excellence and innovation. The credential, which includes NewYork-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center’s Psychiatry Program, is considered the gold standard, and comprises a select group of 8 percent of hospitals in the United States.

“We are honored to receive this extraordinary recognition and deeply proud of our amazing team of nursing professionals at NewYork-Presbyterian Westchester Division and NewYork-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center’s Psychiatry Program for their dedication and commitment to providing compassionate and innovative care to our patients,” said Dr. Philip J. Wilner, senior vice president and chief operating officer at NewYork-Presbyterian Westchester Division, which is a leader in providing patient-centered behavioral health care, support and services. “In addition to the nurses, the designation reflects the work of the entire interdisciplinary team. We are proud to be recognized for a clinical environment that promotes high-quality care, an outstanding patient experience, patient safety, and engaged employees,” said Dr. Wilner, who also is executive vice chair of the Department of Psychiatry at Weill Cornell Medicine.

The Magnet Recognition Program® is the ultimate credential for high-quality nursing. It recognizes health care organizations whose nursing teams consistently deliver superior patient care with the highest levels of professionalism and innovation.

“I couldn’t be prouder of our nurses and team members, who go above and beyond each day to care for our patients with genuine compassion,” said Wilhelmina Manzano, MA, RN, NEA-BC, senior vice president and chief nursing executive & chief quality officer at NewYork-Presbyterian.

“We are thrilled to be recognized for our nursing excellence, interdisciplinary work, and our collaborative effort with the entire organization to achieve this prestigious designation,” said Linda Espinosa, MS, RN, NEA-BC, vice president and chief nursing officer at NewYork-Presbyterian Westchester Division and NewYork-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center’s Psychiatry Program.

The Magnet Model provides a framework for nursing practice, research, and measurement of outcomes. Through this framework, ANCC evaluates applicants across a number of components and dimensions to gauge an organization’s nursing excellence. The foundation of this model is comprised of elements deemed essential to delivering superior patient care. These include the quality of nursing leadership and coordination and collaboration across specialties, as well as processes for measuring and improving the quality and delivery of care.

Magnet-recognized hospitals provide benefits to their communities and organizations such as higher patient satisfaction related to nursing communication, lower risk of 30-day mortality, and higher job satisfaction among nursing staff, according to the ANCC.

NewYork-Presbyterian Westchester Division

NewYork-Presbyterian Westchester Division, opened in 1894, is one of the world’s most advanced centers for psychiatric care. NewYork-Presbyterian Westchester Division serves children, adolescents, adults and the elderly with comprehensive outpatient treatment, partial hospitalization and inpatient services. In addition to clinical treatment, the NewYork-Presbyterian Westchester Division is a center for interdisciplinary medical research and education through its academic affiliate, Weill Cornell Medicine. NewYork-Presbyterian also comprises NewYork-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center, NewYork-Presbyterian/Columbia University Irving Medical Center, NewYork-Presbyterian Morgan Stanley Children’s Hospital, NewYork-Presbyterian Allen Hospital, NewYork-Presbyterian Lower Manhattan Hospital and NewYork-Presbyterian Lawrence Hospital. The hospital is also closely affiliated with NewYork-Presbyterian Hudson Valley Hospital, NewYork-Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital and NewYork-Presbyterian Queens. NewYork-Presbyterian is the #1 hospital in the New York metropolitan area, according to U.S. News & World Report, and consistently named to the magazine’s Honor Roll of best hospitals in the nation. For more information, visit


NewYork-Presbyterian is one of the nation’s most comprehensive, integrated academic healthcare delivery systems, whose organizations are dedicated to providing the highest quality, most compassionate care and service to patients in the New York metropolitan area, nationally, and throughout the globe. In collaboration with two renowned medical schools, Weill Cornell Medicine and Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons, NewYork-Presbyterian is consistently recognized as a leader in medical education, groundbreaking research and innovative, patient-centered clinical care.

NewYork-Presbyterian has four major divisions:

  • NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital is ranked #1 in the New York metropolitan area by U.S. News and World Report and repeatedly named to the Honor Roll of “America’s Best Hospitals.”
  • NewYork-Presbyterian Regional Hospital Network comprises hospitals and other facilities in the New York metropolitan region.
  • NewYork-Presbyterian Physician Services, which connects medical experts with patients in their communities.
  • NewYork-Presbyterian Community and Population Health, encompassing ambulatory care network sites and community healthcare initiatives, including NewYork Quality Care, the Accountable Care Organization jointly established by NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital, Weill Cornell Medicine and Columbia.

For more information, visit and find us on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.

About ANCC’s Magnet Recognition Program

The Magnet Recognition Program — administered by the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the largest and most prominent nurses credentialing organization in the world — identifies health care organizations that provide the very best in nursing care and professionalism in nursing practice. The Magnet Recognition Program serves as the gold standard for nursing excellence and provides consumers with the ultimate benchmark for measuring quality of care. For more information about the Magnet Recognition Program and current statistics, visit

Media Contact:

Connor Hadley 212-821-0560