Health Library

Peanut Allergy Diet

General guidelines for peanut allergy

The key to an allergy-free diet is to avoid all foods or products containing the food to which you are allergic. If you are allergic to peanuts, you will need to avoid peanuts and foods that contain peanuts. It is necessary to read all food labels.

How to read a label for a peanut-free diet

In addition to peanuts, avoid foods that contain any of the following ingredients:

  • Artificial nuts (Nu-Nuts)

  • Beer nuts

  • Ground nuts

  • Mixed nuts

  • Monkey nuts

  • Peanut butter

  • Peanut flour

  • Peanut oil

Foods that may contain peanuts

These foods may also contain peanuts:

  • African, Chinese, Mexican, Thai, and other ethnic dishes

  • Baked goods

  • Candy

  • Cereals

  • Chili, spaghetti sauce

  • Crackers

  • Egg rolls

  • Enchilada sauce

  • Flavoring (natural and artificial) 

  • Hydrolyzed plant protein

  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein

  • Ice creams, frozen yogurts, Tofutti

  • Marzipan

  • Nougat

Other sources of peanuts

These food sources may also contain peanuts:

  • Studies show that most people with allergies can safely eat foods containing peanut oil -- except peanut oil that is cold pressed, expressed, or expelled.

  • Ethnic foods, commercially prepared baked goods, and candy can be cross-contaminated with peanuts since peanuts are frequently used in these types of foods.

  • Peanut butter and/or peanut flour have been used in homemade chili and spaghetti sauce as thickeners.

  • Hydrolyzed plant and vegetable protein may be from peanuts in imported foods. (These proteins are usually from soy in the U.S.)

  • Bookmark
  • Print

    Find a Doctor

Click the button above or call
1 877 NYP WELL


eNewsletters
Top of page